“And I will go, unburdened, on the quiet lane of my eternal kind”

VITA NUOVA
~ by Stanley Kunitz

I abdicate my daily self that bled,
As others breathe, for porridge it might sup.
Henceforth apocalypse will get my bread
For me. I gnawed my tongue and bit my lip.
But now the visor of my name is up.

Giving to love my undivided nature,
Cherishing life, the only fire to keep,
I have been otherwise a part time creature,
With many selves to fool myself with hope,
And in myself a gentler self to weep.

Now I peel that vision from my brain
Of numbers wrangling in a common place,
And I will go, unburdened, on the quiet lane
Of my eternal kind, till shadowless
With inner light I wear my father’s face.

Moon of the soul, accompany me now,
Shine in the colosseums of my sense,
Be in the tabernacles of my brow.
My dark will make, reflecting from your stones,
The single beam of all my life intense.

Author: MDM

Michael Dennis Mooney is a student of humor and witticism in verse. At this site he is compiling a selection of the best works using extended metaphor in poetry, with a special interest in satire, parody, and humor. Suggestions are welcome. Send your citations of favorites, by email, to mike.mooney.home@gmail.com He has a site "New Writings" at http://jcbcast.blogspot.com And a site for essays, 'His Epistles To The Philistines" at http://tothephilistines.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

